Located in Hyogo-no-Tsu, the birthplace of Hyogo Prefecture, the Hyogo-no-Tsu Museum is a new type of facility that combines the exhibition facility House of Hyogo Origins and the restored First Hyogo Prefectural Office. The history of Hyogo-no-Tsu, how Hyogo Prefecture was established, and the charms of the five districts of Hyogo Prefecture are presented in various ways, including a wealth of visual and interactive content. It is an “Outside-the-Box Museum,” which is a bit different from conventional museums.
Message from the Honorary Director
The ancient port of Owada-no-Tomari has been called Hyogo-no-Tsu since the medieval period, and it prospered as a key port in the Seto Inland Sea for the Japan-Song trade developed by Taira no Kiyomori and the Japan-Ming trade started by Ashikaga Yoshimitsu. It became a city with a population of approximately 20,000 in the 18th century during the Edo period (1603–1868). At the end of the Edo period, the port was opened to foreign countries under treaties. Hyogo Prefecture was established there in July 1868, about six months after the port’s opening. The first Governor was Ito Shunsuke (aka Ito Hirobumi), and the former Hyogo Branch of the Osaka Magistrate Office was used as the prefectural office.
The Hyogo Prefectural Hyogo-no-Tsu Museum is a place for learning and sightseeing, established in the place of origin of the prefectural office and consists of the restored First Hyogo Prefectural Office and the exhibition facility House of Hyogo Origins. The museum provides an enjoyable experience for both children and adults to learn about the long and rich history of Hyogo-no-Tsu, the unique process of the establishment of Hyogo Prefecture three years before the abolition of feudal domains, its subsequent development to include the former five districts, and the natural and cultural resources of each region in the prefecture today.
Honorary Director, Hyogo Prefectural Hyogo-no-Tsu Museum
Hyogo-no-Tsu is the place of origin for Hyogo, where a port with a history of over 1,000 years was opened and where the first prefectural office was built. The Hyogo Prefectural Hyogo-no-Tsu Museum serves as a center for presenting the history of Hyogo-no-Tsu, the unique process of the establishment of Hyogo Prefecture, and the charms and diversity of the five districts. It consists of the restored First Hyogo Prefectural Office and the exhibition facility House of Hyogo Origins.
The First Hyogo Prefectural Office, which was opened on November 3, 2021, offers visitors an experience of the historical space back when Hyogo Prefecture was established. Inside the building, visitors can also enjoy the MR tour “Virtual Visit!” and a photo session in the jail.
Opened on November 24, 2022, the exhibition facility House of Hyogo Origins offers a variety of graphic, visual, and interactive content based on the concept of “seeing, hearing, and touching,” including the digital fish-catching “Ikesu de Touch” and a musical historical drama in a large theater. They will facilitate the understanding of the origins of Hyogo and the stories and interesting aspects of its regional resources.
To serve as a base in increasing Hyogo fans where many people from inside and outside Hyogo will visit and communicate with each other to discover the history that can only be found here, the Hyogo-no-Tsu Museum will foster people’s attachment to their hometowns and create a lively atmosphere by widely presenting the prefecture’s diverse regional resources.
- October 1991
- Local neighborhood associations requested support from the city and the prefecture for the redevelopment of the Shinkawa Canal area.
- June 1998
- A review committee for the basic plan of the Hyogo History Museum (tentative name) was established and started discussions to develop a participatory, experience-based facility that familiarizes visitors with history and serves as a hub for regional revitalization.
- A research group for the commemorative project of the birthplace of the prefectural government was established.
- A review committee for the development of the first prefectural office building was established.
- A review committee for the commemorative project of the birthplace of the prefectural government was established.
- May 2017
- At the prefecture-city liaison meeting and the prefecture-city coordination meeting, it was agreed that the prefecture and the city would work in cooperation to move the project forward.
- March 2019
- The Basic Plan for the Hyogo Prefectural Hyogo-no-Tsu Museum (tentative name) was formulated.
- March 2021
- Construction work of the House of Hyogo Origins was started.
- June 2021
- Exhibition work of the House of Hyogo Origins was started.
- August 2021
- The First Hyogo Prefectural Office was completed.
- November 3, 2021
- The First Hyogo Prefectural Office was opened.
- September 2022
- The House of Hyogo Origins was completed.
- November 24, 2022
- The House of Hyogo Origins was opened.
Development History (aerial image)
*Scroll for a slide show.